Festschrift for Wallace Huffman
8:00 AM – 5:30PM
August 1, 2014, Ames Iowa
South Prairie Room, Gateway Center, Ames Iowa

8:00 AM Welcome by Dean Wendy Wintersteen, Endowed Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Director of the Iowa Agriculture and Home Economics Experiment Station, and Professor of Entomology, Iowa State University

(1) Human Capital and Rural Labor Markets 8:15 - 9:45

Mark Lange mlange@cotton.org  National Cotton Council
Rural Development in the South Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

Georgeanne M. Artz, Insoo Cho,  Zizhen Guo, Younjun Kim, Peter F. Orazem and Li Yu
What has 70 Years of Research on Rural Economic Development taught us about Agglomeration, Migration, Commuting, Income, Innovation and Entrepreneurship? Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

Gregory Colson gcolson@uga.edu University of Georgia (with Grace Melo, and Octavio Ramirez)
Immigration Reform from the Perspective of Legal and Illegal Hispanic Immigrants Abstract |Paper |PowerPoint

Philip Martin martin@primal.ucdavis.edu  University of California at Davis
Immigration and Agriculture: Challenges and Opportunities Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

(2) Human Capital and Health 9:45 - 11:00

Gregory Wozniak American Medical Association greg.wozniak@ama-assn.org (with Ronald A. Babula)
Dynamic Price Transmissions among Prices for U.S. Health Care Services: a preliminary analysisAbstract | Paper | PowerPoint

Zhuo (Adam) Chen chenzhuo@gmail.com  U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Economics of Obesity: A Selective Review on Contributing Factors, Consequences, and Interventions Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

Jessica Schuring schuringjr@central.edu Central College (with Wallace Huffman)
The impact of maternal occupation and pre-pregnancy weight status on childhood obesity Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

(3) Adoption of New Technologies 11:00 – 11:50; 12:30 – 1:30

Awudu Abdulai aabdula@food-econ.uni-kiel.de University of Kiel
Diffusion of Agricultural Technologies in Sub-Saharan Africa: Evidence from New Rice Varieties in Nigeria Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

Charles B. Moss cbmoss@ufl.edu University of Florida and Andrew Schmitz aschmitz@ufl.edu University of Florida
Adoption of New Technologies Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

C. Richard Shumway shumway@wsu.edu  Washington State  (with Benjamin Cowan, and Daegoon Lee)  
Testing the Induced Innovation Hypothesis: Accounting for Innovation Creation and Innovation Implementation Incentives Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

David Zilberman zilber11@berkeley.edu  University of California at Berkeley
The economics and impacts of GMOs.  Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

(4) Demand for Food, Food Labeling and Food Experiments 1:30 - 2:50

Matthew C. Rousu  rousu@susqu.edu Susquehanna University 
GM Foods and Experimental Auctions: History and Next Steps Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

Carola Grebitus Carola.Grebitus@asu.edu Arizona State,  Helen H. Jensen hhjensen@iastate.edu Iowa State University, and Jutta Roosen  jroosen@tum.de Technische Universität München
Does the packaging make the product?: Identifying consumers’ preference for “natural” in packagingAbstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

Kyrre Rickertsen kyrre.rickertsen@umb.no Norwegian U. of Life Sciences   (with Xianwen Chen and Frode Alfnes) Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

(5) Policies for Science, Technology, Food, and Agriculture.  2:50 - 4:10

Richard Barichello barichel@mail.ubc.ca University of British Columbia
How to Reduce Rural Poverty in Java: Farm Wage Rates and the Integration of Rural and Urban Labor Markets Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

GianCarlo Moschini moschini@iastate.edu Iowa State University (with Harvey Lapan)
Coexistence Policies for GM and non-GM Production Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

Brian Wright bwright@berkeley.edu   University of California at Berkeley
Science and Technology Policies and Intellectual Property. Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

(6) Agricultural Production, Innovation and TFP Analysis 4:10 - 5:30

Fuglie, Keith
R&D Capital, Knowledge Spillovers, and International Agricultural Productivity Abstract | Paper | PowerPoint

Eldon Ball, Nehring, Richard - ERS RNEHRING@ers.usda.gov
Hedonic Analysis of Land Quality: Postscript on other Capital inputs in OECD Agriculture Abstract |     Paper | PowerPoint

Zheng Xu xuzheng@email.unc.edu  University of North Carolina (with Wallace E. Huffman and Yu Jin)
Econometric Estimates of the Contribution of Genetic Modification to Yield Potential and Damage Control: Evidence from State Average Corn Yields
Abstract  | Paper | PowerPoint

Reception will begin at 6:00 PM

Please send comments and corrections to Peter Orazem